Ratatouille

One type of food that I haven’t tasted before is ratatouille. I have heard of the movie and dish, but haven’t really tasted it yet. I was surprised about the version that I have tasted because it consisted only of vegetables. Granted, I made this one since it is a part of what I have to do in chef school, but it is still surprising to me on how it tastes and smells. It smells like pizza, which somewhat makes sense considering it has tomato juice. What is also inside is onion, eggplant, 2 kinds of zucchini (yellow and green) and red pepper. It looks like small slices of vegetables with orange sauce. Its taste is sweet and similar to pizza, for some reason. I only taste the vegetables for a short while, but the tomato juice and red pepper it what I mostly taste and the tastes both linger after a while.

What I learned about my palate is that I need to develop it some more because I cannot really distinguish tastes all that well. Ratatouille is good and would like to try it again in the future, probably make more of it when I get the chance. The taste and texture is fine, but I do not know how to further improve it; maybe I should season it more. What I will try again in the future is to try and find new foods to try to further learn about various combinations.

Leave a Reply

