Soup Making

The soup I selected to make is a beef soup with noodles. The history of this soup is that I obtained beef and veal bones from a lab in George brown; we were tasked to create stocks and roast the bones. At the end of the class, our professor (chef) advised us to take home the bones and use them instead of discarding them, so I made beef stock with them; unfortunately, I burned the bones, which is why the beef stock looks very dark. After making the beef stock, I had no idea what to do, until I had an idea. Considering I like noodles for breakfast, I experimented on the stock by making my own combination on the beef noodle soup in order to try out different flavours and combinations. This recipe consists of ingredients that I think would make the soup flavorful, and also because these ingredients are the only ones I found fitting in the soup.

1 ½ cup beef stock

1 egg

2 pcs dry noodle discs

1 pc onion, brunoise

½ cup spinach

10 mL virgin olive oil

2 cloves garlic, minced

2 pc bay leaf

Sea salt

Pepper

Monosodium glutamate

10 mL soy sauce

Hot sauce (optional)

Calaminsi (powder or fresh) (optional)

The ingredients: 20141205_190315   20141205_192315

  1. In a small saucepan, boil noodles in water on high heat for 3 minutes. Strain and set aside.
  2. Heat olive oil sweat onion on separate pot.
  3. Add garlic and continue sweating.
  4. Add beef stock on onion and garlic and bring to a boil, stirring constantly.
  5. Add soy sauce and (if desired) add calamansi and/or hot sauce.
  6. Add noodles, egg, bay leaf, salt, monosodium glutamate, salt and pepper on beef stock. Simmer for 5-7 minutes.
  7. At the last 2 minutes, add spinach.
  8. Season when needed, plate and serve.

Sweating the onion and boiling the noodles: 20141205_191746

Finished product: 20141205_193635

The procedure was a tad rocky, considering that I overcooked the noodles and put the egg in too late, but nevertheless it looks edible enough.

The taste of the soup is peculiar to me. First is the noodles; regardless of how hot it was (temperature-wise), the taste of beef is there, regardless of how brief it is, and it is also spicy from the hot sauce. Second, the soup itself has most of the beefy taste, along with the taste of egg from the egg, and has the same spiciness as the noodles. Even though the spinach is cooked, the taste is still separate from the beef. Plus, the soup has a bitter taste to it, considering I used burnt bones for the stock. The texture is thick, and I still feel the onions. The stench of the soup is still beef, and the noodles has a light brown color from the beef stock.

I had my father try the soup; he said that it was good, but I think he’s just saying that.

Overall, what I experienced from this is that I should constantly check on what I am roasting to keep it from burning, and to try out more flavors. I will still try out various combinations of food and see which ones compliment the other. This experiment was somewhat a success, because I saw it through, but the ingredients that I used were either bitter, old, or both. In the future, I would like to experiment on different spices and seasonings on other soups or roasts.

Leave a Reply

